Lalu Yadav a habitual lawbreaker, says Nitish Kumar

Monday, November 1, 2010

PATNA - Commenting on the First Information Reports that were registered against Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and his wife and former Chief Minister Rabri Devi for allegedly violating the model code of conduct, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Monday called him a ‘habitual lawbreaker and offender’, who would never improve.

“He acts like that, speaks like that, he is a habitual lawbreaker and offender and enjoys breaking laws and rules. Breaking the law is not a matter of bravery, but there are persons who are in the habit of doing so as they enjoy it,” said Nitish Kumar, while addressing the media persons after casting his vote at Bakhtiarpur, about 55 kilometres from Patna.

“Everybody should follow rules. There are personnel available at booths to guide voters on what to do and what not to do,” he added, asserting that Lalu Yadav would never improve.

Cases were filed earlier today against Lalu Prasad and his wife Rabri Devi for allegedly violating the ‘Model Code Of Conduct’ by taking their security guards inside a booth of the Digha Assembly constituency near Patna.

Digha Block Development Officer Ashok Kumar registered the cases at the Patna Airport Police Station.

Lalu Prasad and Rabri Devi earlier along with their son Tejpratap and daughter Ragini drove to booth No. 18 at the veterinary college here and entered with security personnel in tow.

Meanwhile, the fourth phase elections began this morning in 42 constituencies.

Nearly 10 percent voting was recorded in the first two hours, official sources in the Bihar chief electoral officer’s office said.

In some places, queues started forming outside polling booths minutes before voting began.

Over one crore voters will decide the fate of 568 candidates including 58 women in this phase.

Prominent contestants include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stalwarts and ministers Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Bhagalpur), Nand Kishore Yadav (Patna Sahib) Ramnarayan Mandal (Banka), besides Janata Dal-United (JD-U) minister Damodar Raut.

While JD-U is contesting from 25 seats, ally BJP is contesting in the remaining 17.

RJD has fielded candidates in 26 and ally Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) in 16. The Congress is contesting from all 42 constituencies while the BSP is in the fray from 40 seats.

The Communist Party of India -Marxist Leninist is contesting for 15 seats, CPI for 13 and CPI (M) for six.

The first three phases of Bihar polls passed off peacefully. The fifth and sixth phase of elections are scheduled on November 9 and 20.

The state will elect a new 243-seat assembly in a staggered month-long polling in six phases in which over 55 million electorates are expected to cast their franchise.

Counting of votes will take place on November 24. (ANI)

Filed under: Politics

Tags: ,
will not be displayed