Lalu Yadav announces second list of RJD’s candidates for Bihar polls

Monday, October 4, 2010

PATNA - Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav announced second list of 60 candidates of his party for the third and fourth phases of the upcoming polls here on Monday.

The elections to the Bihar State legislature would take place in six phases.

“In Bihar, people from all the communities will have to forget their differences and will have to come together. The poor people of Bihar, farmers, labourers and the backward classes always have the expectations that the government that is formed for us works for our development. So, our party and alliance will leave no stone unturned for the development of the state,” said Yadav.

RJD will contest from 168 seats and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will field its candidates in 68 seats. Yadav had earlier sealed a seat-sharing agreement with Ramvilas Paswan’s LJP.

Bihar is presently being ruled by Janata Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition that rides high on a development-orientated agenda.

The state will elect a new 243-seat Assembly in a staggered month-long polling exercise from October 21 to November 20, in what is expected to be a stiff battle for power.

The legislative elections would be held in 56,943 polling stations spread across the State, in which over 55 million electorate are expected to cast their votes. By Aditya Kumar Jha (ANI)

Filed under: Politics

Tags: ,
will not be displayed