Nine AIADMK legislators suspended from assembly

Monday, January 10, 2011

CHENNAI - Nine AIADMK members were Monday suspended from participating in rest of the ongoing session of the Tamil Nadu assembly after they disrupted proceedings during the governors address Friday.

Leader of the House and Finance Minister K.Anbazhagan moved the resolution to suspend nine AIADMK lawmakers for disrupting the Assembly when Governor Surjit Singh Barnala was about to address the house.

The nine are K.Hari, Pollachi Jayaraman, S.Velumani, D.Jayakumar, L.Ravichandran, Agri Krishnamurthy, C.Ve.Shanmugham, Senthil Balaji and Panduranjan.

As the resolution was passed, the AIADMK, its ally MDMK and the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) walked out of the house in protest.

On Friday as soon as Barnala rose to begin his address to the house, the opposition members wearing black shirts as a mark of protest also stood up and started shouting slogans against the DMK government.

O.Panneerselvam, the deputy leader of the AIADMK, stood up and began reading a statement criticising the government. This was followed by another round of slogan shouting and opposition members rushed towards the speaker’s podium.

Speaker R. Avudaiyappan summoned the marshals and ordered eviction of the opposition members belonging to the AIADMK, MDMK, CPI-M and CPI.

–Indo Asian News Service

Filed under: Politics

will not be displayed