Congress announces new office bearers in West Bengal

Saturday, December 4, 2010

NEW DELHI - The Congress has constituted a new team of office-bearers and the state election committee in West Bengal as part of the party’s preparations for assembly polls next year, its state leaders said Saturday.

The team of office-bearers headed by state president Manas Ranjan Bhunia includes seven vice-presidents, 12 general secretaries and a 22-member state executive.

The Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) also is headed by Bhunia and includes 12 members, including party leaders Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary, A.H. Khan Choudhary and Pradeep Bhattacharya.

Deepa Dasmunsi, MP and wife of former minister Priyaranjan Dasmunsi, is a member of the PEC aas well a general secretary. Priyaranjan Dasmunsi is a permanent invitee to the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) along with 11 other leaders.

The party also announced Congress chiefs in 22 districts.

According to the list declared by Central Election Authority (CEA) chairman Oscar Fernandes, the vice-presidents include Gyan Singh Sohanpal, Ashit Mazumdar, M. Sohrab, Sunil Tirkey, Ajoy Dey and Debabrato Bose.

Ajit Kumar Agarwal will be treasurer of the PCC. The general secretaries include Abdul Mannan, Ram Pyare Ram, Maya Ghosh, Subhra Ghosh, Krishna Deb Nath, Rabindranath Chatterjee, Ajoy Ghosh, Nirmal Ghosh, Om Prakash Mishra, Biswaranjan Sarkar and Samar Mukherjee.

Filed under: Politics

will not be displayed