Karnataka Congress protests ‘poaching’ by BJP

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

BANGALORE - Many members of the opposition Congress in Karnataka were detained late Tuesday as they staged a protest demonstration outside Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa’s official residence here against alleged attempts by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to lure Congress legislators.

The demonstration by about 200 Congressmen was led by opposition leader Siddaramaiah, party’s state unit president R.V. Deshpande, state working president D.K. Shivakumar, several legislators and cadres.

The protest was held amid speculation that the BJP was trying to lure Congress legislator S.V. Ramachandra to resign from his Jagalur assembly segment in Davanagere district, with a promise of making him minister and giving him money.

The ruling BJP in Karnataka is the most shameful party in the country. In the name of ‘operation kamal’ (lotus), it is indulging in horse-trading to buy our legislators. We will not allow this kind of worst corruption to go on, Siddaramaiah told reporters.

When the police refused them entry into the chief minister’s residence, the protesting partymen squatted outside and raised slogans against the BJP’s “anti-democratic methods”.

The BJP and Yeddyurappa have lost moral right to rule the state. Their continuation is untenable. In spite of proving majority in the state legislative assembly last week (Oct 14) when the case against the disqualified 16 legislators was pending in the high court, it is again trying to win our legislators by promising ministerial berths and huge amount of cash, Deshpande said.

When the partymen refused to stop the sit-in demonstration, the police forcibly evicted and bundled them into a van to the Palace Grounds police station for detention on the charge of creating nuisance on a public road in a high security area.

The Congress also condemned the BJP for forcing Channapatna legislator M.C. Ashwath to resign from the assembly last Friday after ensuring his absence during the crucial second trust vote last Thursday and influencing independent legislator Varthur Prakash in voting in favour of the confidence motion.

The BJP won the floor test by 106-100 votes after the controversial voice-vote Oct 11.

Filed under: Politics

will not be displayed