President Obama Signs Wyoming Disaster Declaration

Friday, July 22, 2011

Release Time: 

For Immediate Release

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Wyoming and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, flooding, and landslides during the period of May 18 to July 8, 2011.

Federal funding is available to State, Tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and landslides in the counties of Albany, Big Horn, Carbon, Crook, Fremont, Goshen, Johnson, Lincoln, Platte, Sheridan, Sublette, Teton, Uinta, Washakie, and Weston, and the Wind River Indian Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the State.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Mark H. Armstrong as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. 

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION MEDIA SHOULD CONTACT:  FEMA NEWS DESK AT (202) 646-3272 OR [email protected] (mailto:[email protected])

will not be displayed